HomeCultureFriends of La Perouse Museum welcomes new committee members

Friends of La Perouse Museum welcomes new committee members

On November 25, Friends of La Perouse museum welcomed their new committee members.

The new committee consists of: Ms Carol Abela as president, Mr Bernard Le Boursicot as vice-president, Hon. Secretary Tony Gentile, and Hon. Treasurer Gregory Bond.

The new general committee members are: Professor Margaret Sankey, Dr Peter Orlovich (Honorary Committee Member), Mrs Carole Roussel, Mr Charles Abela, Ms Priscilla Bonham-Carter, Ms Marie Varnier-Gittard, Mrs Gail Tring, Mr Camille Dezarnaulds, Ms Marie Beaumont, Mr Edward Hayes, and Ms Elizabeth De La Torre.

Founded in 1984, Friends of La Perouse museum commemorates the French explorer, Lapérouse who played a significant role in discovering the Australian coastline.


The permanent exhibition holds almost 2,000 items documenting Lapérouse’s 1787-1788 voyage to Botany Bay, and his encounter with the First Fleet.

La Perouse musuem aims to educate school groups, local Australians and tourists on the history of British settlement in the area, as well as the historical significance of the region La Perouse.

The museum is located on the Northern headland of Kamay Botany Bay National Park. It is open from 10-2pm on Wednesdays, and 10-4pm on Saturdays and Sundays.

1609 Anzac Parade, Botany Bay

Share With: