HomeFrench of the Year in Australia 

This page/article is also available in: Français

Le Courrier Australien is lauching an annual Readers’ Choice Prize, to honour distinguished French people living in Australia

For the first time, Le Courrier Australien is organising a reader’s choice prize to recognise and reward French people in Australia, who have distinguished themselves in a particular field. The “French of the Year in Australia Prize” aims to honour French citizens (whether recently arrived in Australia or have been living here for a long time) whose commitments and talents contribute to French influence throughout Australia.

The readers’ choice award will be comprised of five main nomination categories:

–  The first category, “Solidarity” aims to reward French people who have contributed to mutual aid and support activities.

– The prize for «Entrepeneurship» is intended to honour promising craftsmen, creators, or business leaders.

– The “Research and Innovation” category seeks to bring about more public awareness of French researchers working in Australia, as well as entrepreneurs, who have developed innovative solutions in their field.

– The “sport and culture” price will honour artists and athletes of all kinds for their accomplishments.

– And finally, the last category for “youth,” aims to honour young people under 18 years old, for whom the value of their contributions does not depend on a specific age.

We invite all our readers to nominate their candidates beginning from Friday, March 29. You have until Sunday, May 2!

The competition is organised under the patronage of the French embassy in Canberra, as well as the French Consulate General in Sydney.

Le Courrier Australien and the organising committee* want its readers to be fully involved in the selection process. As such, it will be the readers who nominate the candidates in the categories, and the readers who vote.

The prizes will be awarded at a ceremony on the 14th of July. From Monday March 29 until Sunday 2 May, anybody can nominate their candidates. The first phase of voting will take place between Monday 10 May 2021, and Sunday 30 May.

If you know anyone who deserves to be nominated in one of the categories, please don’t hesitate to nominate them. Or, if you feel like it, why not submit your own nomination?

* The Organising Committee:

Anne Boillon, Consule générale de France à Sydney ( Sydney) – Myriam Boisbouvier – Wylie, Présidente du Bastille Day festival , Melbourne –  Christine Cazeris, Présidente UFE   (Western Australia) – Alain Etchegaray, Présidente UFE (Queensland) – Jérôme Fournand, Directeur général de la FACCI – Betty Moinet, Directrice générale de « Le Festival Brisbane » – François Vantomme, Directeur du Courrier Australien

With the support of:


This page/article is also available in: Français